Feeling silly today

An early-ish Facebook post sent my mind down a fun path today and I’m feeling very Douglas Adams. If you’re not familiar with Douglas Adams, he’s the brilliant author behind “The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” series. http://www.cnet.com/news/astronaut-reads-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-in-space/

My old roommate, Chinno, (still married to the beautiful Kris and together they made the more beautiful Megan!), introduced me to this gem.  There were some mental adjustments to make, stepping into the world of British humor, as it were.  What fun! 

Douglas Adams made me laugh out loud reading for the first time. It’s a favorite memory, sitting on a ratty old couch and startling my roommates with a bark of laughter.  Larry shook his head, understanding my crazy. Chinno saw the book and smiled, knowingly. 

It’s been a while since I’ve felt silly, that makes me sad.  But sad is not for today. Today we are free to be silly.

Here’s a challenge: Go do something outrageous!  Post manican-posed selfies from the mall or park.  Embarrass the heck out of your kids, pets, and friends!  Lurk on your tip-toes like a dastardly villain.  Clean the bathroom using Julia Child’s voice. Whatever it is, share it with the people you love.  Everyone loves a little silly every now and then.

image

Leave a Reply

